sri m

CHAPTER 8 – Gayatri Mantra


         Let us look at the mantra itself:

Aum Bhur Bhuvah Suvaha

Tat Savitur Varenyam

Bhargo Devasya Dheemahi

Dhiyo Yonah Prachodayat.

If you scan these lines, you will notice that the first line does not conform to the gayatri meter. It consists of the pranava Aum, and maha vyahritis, the seven spheres of existence, beginning with the physical, bhuloka, forming the first part of the mantra. The second part consists of the next two lines ending in dheemahi, it being metrically divided into two lines. The third part is the last line.

This division into parts is not arbitrary; it represents the three stages of one’s unfoldment towards the Ultimate Consciousness. The first part prepares the spiritual background for the operation of the second and third parts. While the first makes the aspirant the upadhi, the right vehicle or receptacle, for the descent of the Supreme Consciousness, the second part intensifies his mental aspiration for it. But the attainment of the Ultimate Consciousness can only be through Divine Grace and this Grace is obtained through the self-surrender of the third part.

In order to understand the significance of the mantra, and analysis of its main elements is necessary, starting with the pranava.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: